top of page






The Seven Chakras and theirMeanings


Unblocking, Balancing & Realigning Chakras

Here we hope to answer some questions about chakras. Where does the word Chakra come from or originated. What does chakra mean? What are chakras? What do chakras do? How do chakras work? What is the subtle body? How knowledge of chakras help with our life and our health. The meaning of each chakra and how it relates to our life and health. We will look at how to realign your chakras, how to unblock your chakras, and how to balance your chakras.


The word Chakra comes from an ancient Indian language known as Sanskrit, chakra means vortex, spinning wheel or circle. Chakras are the major centres of spiritual power in the human body and are circles of energy which balance, store and distribute the energies of life all through our physical body along the subtle body. The subtle body is the non physical body or otherwise known as our soul or spirit, which overlays our physical body.

The belief in chakras started in India, and is utilized in Ayurvedic medicine, the earliest records of Ayurvedic dates from around 2500 B.C. The word Ayurvedic comes from two Indian words Ayur meaning life and Veda meaning knowledge. Ayurvedic or life knowledge medicine may be interpreted as knowledge on how to lead a healthy life. Ayurvedic medicine observes illness as unevenness in the body, which may be treated with a mixture of meditation, physical exercise and herbal treatments.

If you could imagine chakras as circles of energy, flowing all the way through our body these circles of energy assist in the running of our body, mind and soul. If a chakra is not performing correctly, this could cause our physical health, mental health and our spiritual selves to suffer. Although there are hundreds of chakras in our body we will only introduce the seven major chakras. These chakras start at the base of the spine and move upwards to the last one at the crown of the head. They coincide with the positions along the spinal cord of the major nerve ganglia in our physical body.




BASE CHAKRA : related to kidneys, spinal column

SACRAL CHAKRA : related to reproductive system

SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA : related to stomach, liver, nervous system and gall bladder

HEART CHAKRA : related to heart, blood and circulatory system

THROAT CHAKRA : related to thyroid, lungs, bronchial and vocal apparatus

FOREHEAD CHAKRA : related to lower brain, ears, nose and nervous system

CROWN CHAKRA : related to upper brain







Base : red

Sacral : orange

Solar Plexus : yellow

Heart : green

Throat Chakra : blue

Forehead : indigo

Crown : purple 







Chakras and the endocrine system:

The primary importance and level of existence of chakras is posited to be in the psyche. However, there are those who believe that chakras have a physical manifestation as well. Some people suggest that there is a relationship between the positions and functions of the chakras, and of the various organs of the endocrine system. It is noted by many that there is a marked similarity between the positions and roles described for chakras, and the positions and roles of the glands in the endocrine system, and also by the positions of the nerve ganglia (also known as "plexuses") along the spinal cord (branching to plexuses by endocrine glands or organs), opening the possibility that two vastly different systems of conceptualization have been brought to bear to systemize insights about the same phenomenon. By some, chakras are thought of as having their physical manifestation in the body as these glands, and their subjective manifestation as the associated emotional, mental and spiritual experiences. However, as there are important organs located at virtually any point in the body, the correspondence of certain biological systems or organs with the traditional locations of chakras is unsurprising and may be considered inevitable.

Back to FFFT©
bottom of page